It is currently December 13th, 2017, 7:22 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: heartworm question
PostPosted: April 20th, 2015, 5:12 pm 
Banded Black Duck

Its been a while since I've been on. When life gets ahold of you time will fly by. Needless to say its been a rough couple month stretch in the Batey house with my daughter being hospitilazied twice. Luckily she is ok and healthy. To make matters more stressful I took drake in for a yearly check up Saturday and the heartworm test came back positive. He's been on iverhart since the beginning and we always administer the pill at the first of the month. The Dr stated she had another case, same situation, just last week. We discussed the treatment protocol and I studied up on the American heartworm society website to see what needs to be done. My question is have any of y'all dealt with heartworms and the treatment? She also said she was filing a report with iverhart to see if they are going to cover expenses of treatment. She said its possible they will. The vet has records where I've bought half a yr supply every six month over the past 6 yrs for Drake. Either way if they help out or not the treatment will be done but I would like to know if you all have any experience with iverhart or this type of situation where the medication was ineffective.
Thanks!!

Post subject: Re: heartworm question
PostPosted: April 20th, 2015, 5:54 pm 
Tundra Swan

One of my pups was diagnosed with heart worms a couple of years ago. She was on heartgard. It was a "light" reading and I elected to go with the quick kill method as she was young, active, and not symptomatic. She handled the shots well and handled her 2 months of crate rest well. Came back to training without any issues and now has her HRCH under her new owner.

I chose the quick kill because my vet and I felt she could handle it, I wanted those suckers dead before they could cause damage, and I wanted to get back to training asap.